Say It Loud Röddin Mixtape

Photo: Maria Schwartson.
In April I did a guest mix for the Faroese website Röddin.fo. The mix is called ”Say It Loud Röddin Mixtape” and here's a bit of backstory I wrote for the mix (tracklist below):

Lately we've seen the release of two albums that are embedded in a socially critical black American music tradition: "Black Messiah" by D’Angelo and The Vanguard and "To Pimp A Butterfly" by Kendrick Lamar.
Both albums are brimming over with musical energy and can be heard as the sound of the street: musical statements of how it feels to be black in today’s America. This is a recurring theme in black American music since the civil rights movement in the 60's.
I am both musically and historically interested in these circumstances and therefore I put together this guest mix of relevant music from said time period with D’Angelo and Lamar as starting points.
(Thanks to Erik Steinskog, associate professor of musicology, for inspiration).
While we're at it, this is an interesting and highly relevant article.

0. Street FX
1. James Brown: ‘Say It Loud, I’m Black And I’m Proud’
2. Sly and the Family Stone: ‘Just Like A Baby’
3. The O’Jays: ‘For The Love of Money’
4. Bobby Womack: ‘Across 110th Street’
5. Stevie Wonder: ‘Living For The City’
6. Parliament: ‘Mothership Connection (Star Child)’
7. Ann Peebles: ‘I’m Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down’
8. Public Enemy: ‘Fight The Power’
9. Bootsy Collins: ‘Bootzilla’
10. Kendrick Lamar: ‘King Kunta’
11. Curtis Mayfield: ‘SuperFly’
12. D’Angelo and The Vanguard: ‘Sugar Daddy’
13. Marvin Gaye: ‘What’s Going On’
14. The Meters: ‘Ease Back’
15. Prince & the Revolution: ‘Sometimes It Snows in April’

No comments:

Post a Comment